Introduction Relfection

When Bill Muirhead asked us to reflect on the experience of constructing introductions to our cohort.  I was intrigued by the idea of the “Impostor Syndrome” and very quickly remembered the bouncy, blonde, aerobics instructor that I invented in 1997 for sole purpose of meeting new people online.

As a result recent intense personal growth and new awareness to my place in the world, it did not even cross my mind to describe myself in any way that could be conceived as untruthful or exaggerated.  Honesty motivates and forces me to strongly consider who I am introducing myself to in order to define which parts of me to start with.  I am hopeful that I will develop a number of sincere relationships with members of my cohort; through the course of friendship building, we will have opportunities to experience various sides of each other’s personalities.  Initially however, what it boils down to is first impressions.

My cohort at RRU is unlike any other group of people I have interacted with.  They are not adolescents or my students and they aren’t high powered executives waiting to be impressed by my skills.  By the same token, they are not my friends from back home or college or professional connections that I have made since I started teaching.

For the first time in my life I am engaging in a great adventure with a group of peers who want to be impressed by my skills only to determine how they will compliment their own; they are working professionals who share a passion and motivation for innovation in what they do.

So, how did I choose to introduce myself? Honestly with a little horn tooting mixed in for good measure 🙂

What were the main lessons for me in this activity?

1. always review your post to ensure wonky code doesn’t make a first impression on your behalf 😉
2. Take time to think about who I am in specific contexts.  In this situation, I spent time determining how I would describe myself as a learning professional and I choose to share information that would reflect my characteristics as the relate to this particular situation.

Guided Reflection Questions:

1.  What questions could potentially amplify feelings of inadequacy?
“What do you do?”
“What have you studied in the past?”
2.  Questions that could reduce feelings of inadequacy?
The 4 questions we were asked to answer were non-threatening to me; they are innocuous and promote the sharing of non-skill related information about ourselves.

Leave a Reply

